13. Cross-section analysis

Questions and discussion for this lecture live here. Fire away by hitting Reply below :fire:

Hello Sean,

I have a question regarding the limit of x/d of 0.45.

Is this a code limit mentioned in the UK national annex to Eurocode? or is it considered a good practice by UK engineers? I tried to search for this specific limitation in the Eurocodes but I couldn’t find it.

Your course is brilliant, and I enjoyed it, I am actually an engineer who has a couple of years in the industry, however in my country, I used the American codes, and after I moved to Italy I needed to familiarize myself with the Eurocodes, and your course was just what I needed.

Thank you for your efforts and this awesome platform.
Best Regards.
Ahmed.

Hi Ahmed,

Great to hear that you enjoyed the course! Perhaps you would consider leaving a review here?

In terms of the limit on neutral axis depth, I believe this is specifically mentioned in the UKNA. But as far as I’m aware it is broadly adopted as good practice - certainly within UK and Irish design practice (the only territories I have first hand experience with).

You’ll also see this in any text book that deals with Eurocode-based design.

Seán

Hi Ahmed,
I too wondered about this. After going through NSEN (Norway) and my textbooks, all I could find was on this limit was in EN 5.6.3.

Regards Simen

Correct. It is a the 0,45 limit for statically indeterminate members relating to the rotation capacity of plastic hinges.

x/d = 0,45 for < C50/60 and even less (0,35) for > C55/67 RC. I consider 0,35 more academic, since you would not pour concrete on site more than C50/60 anyway.

my source: DIN EN 1992-1-1:2011, 5.6.3 (2)

1 Like

Hi Sean,

@18:25, you’ve mentioned that the we have an upper limit material behaviour. Can you elaborate more on this.